Boyce Avenue

19 Aug

I love a good musical cover. They’re like re-watching a great movie over and over and noticing something new about it every single time. Now, thanks to YouTube, my discovery of covers is endless. I love finding videos of Weezer giving their best poker face a go, a beautiful friend doing a beautiful version of a Hellogoodbye staple, and my most favorite thing is looking up Boyce Avenue covers. I’ve been listening to this guy for years now, I think my first listen to him was a cover of “Umbrella” he did.

I’ve arrived at the party a little late, seeing as how this video was uploaded almost a year ago, but nonetheless, here is Boyce Avenue’s cover of “Teenage Dream.”

I have seriously been on Katy Perry high lately. I’ll blame it on the fact that I’m still covered in the scent of cotton candy from her Austin show a few weeks ago. Regardless, I love this dude. I love how he takes a sexually charged song about going all the way and makes it into the sweetest, most innocent song about teenage love. It’s moments like this where I wish I had a television show in production so that I could show the nation the humble talent that this guy exudes.

If you’re bored someday or in the mood for a great cover I highly recommended checking out his YouTube page.

Leave a Reply

