Geroni-Say It Ain’t So!

2 Oct

I feel like I’m disrespecting the memory of the denizens of Gallifrey with this statement, but this season of Doctor Who has left me feeling a bit, eh, underwhelmed…

Maybe I can blame it on the extreme amount of hype there was going into this series. Fancy posters! A split season! Amazing cliff-hangers! Comic-Con visits! SERIALIZED STORIES! I mean, c’mon, BBC pumped out an advertising campaign fit for a going-to-be-cancelled-within-3-weeks-NBC- show (I’m lookin’ at you, Playboy Club!). With all the promotion I expected nothing less than an utterly incredible season worthy of praising every single minute of every single day. Yet, something this season has just felt off.

Side note: Being 21 years of age, I was raised in what you could call, the Lost generation. This means that being the true (Tardis) blue fan of television I am, I sat through six years of serialized island-madness drama. Six years. Six long, uneven, what’s a smoke monster?, is this whole thing a metaphor?, polar bear-stalked jungle, Paolo and Nicki buried alive years. Needless to say, I’m a little weary when it comes to serialization.

This island-sized chip on my shoulder is probably the reason why Amy seeing Madame Kovarian’s face in random locations for the first half of the season needed to be more than just, well, Amy seeing Madame Kovarian’s face in random locations! The serialization of the show needed to be more than just a tiny aspect of the show there to remind you that the season is leading to a specific Pandorica-esque showdown to end all showdowns.

Even with all my hesitation, this season has provided some FANTASTIC episodes and moments. “The Doctor’s Wife” may have replaced “Turn Left” as my favorite D. Who ep. Alex Kingston’s River Song has never been more fabulous, “The God Complex” left me shaking and crying, literally, and Matt Smith has definitely worked his way into my stycons inner circle. Just look at this!

I have yet to watch the finale, “The Wedding of River Song,” (thanks for going out of town room mate and my conscious guilt over breaking a pact with you to wait and watch the episode together!) and I pray that the finale will make me look like a complete über dumb-dumb for not having loved the little show that could, did, has, will do again.

To end, I love Doctor Who. It is not only one of my favorite shows, but it has also led to some fantastic friendships being formed and some fantastic debates and conversations. I just hope that when I inevitably buy the complete series 6 on blu-ray I will discover something there that I hadn’t noticed before.

UPDATE: Moffat…. ugh…. all I’m gonna say is…. ugh….

Allons-y, y’all! See you back in the Tardis come Christmas!

One Response to “Geroni-Say It Ain’t So!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ringer v. Revenge | The Wilburn Rapport - October 3, 2011

    […] – now I have my problems with serialization, e.g. Lost, but these two shows seem to be handling it pretty well so far. I’d give the […]

Leave a Reply

