‘Hunger Games’ Trailer: GOOSEBUMPS

14 Nov

I don’t care what is going on in your life right now. Sorry, that was a little harsh. But, for serious! The first official trailer for The Hunger Games has been released, and to call it sheer perfection would be an understatement. Stop whatever you may being doing at the moment and watch this!

Check it out:

In 2 minutes and 36 seconds all my fears and qualms have been silenced by the sound of the first cannon signalling the beginning of the games. Because there is so much I want to hit on, I’ll make it easy and list out the bullet points for why I am obsessively awaiting March 23, 2012.

District 12

I’m expecting Aibileen and Minnie from The Help to come waddle off their bus and join in with the march toward the reaping. I mean this in the most respectful way of course. D12 is supposed to be a podunk town, and with just a small glimpse into Katniss’ home turf, you can see how impoverished her district is.

Greenery

This may be a personal favorite, but give me a lush landscape and I am sold.

The Reaping

You can feel the tension of the horrendous event of the reaping. The monochromatic colors and sheer silence only add to the feeling of impending doom. Oh, and the sadistic coo of one…

Effie Trinket

The horror of Effie staring straight into the camera, ushering Peeta to the stage, will haunt me for the next few hours. Trinket truly delights in performing the reaping each year, and her pop of pink color is enough to turn any child pale with fear.

The Girl Who Was On Fire

1) Stanley Tucci makes a fine Caesar Flickerman. 2) Katniss looks both beautiful and utterly dead inside at the same time. What the actual Hunger Games do so well is mix equal amounts of entertainment with gory terror. If this quick moment is an indication of what is to come, helllllo new favorite franchise.

The Capitol

What could have been taken and turned into an amped up Disneyland has instead just become a slightly heightened New York City. Just looking at the skyline, you wouldn’t expect all the horrors that go on within to actually happen.

Katniss and Peeta

One of the first interactions between Peeta Melark and Katniss Everdeen atop the roof of one the capitol’s buildings is hands down my favorite scene in any of The Hunger Games books. I love it not because of the love between the Peeta and Katniss, rather I love it because this is the first conversation where you truly feel the weight of what the game is going to do to these kids. The scene is beautiful, and Josh and Jennifer seem to have great chemistry too!

Jennifer Lawrence is B.A.

You would think that because the girl has an Oscar nomination under her belt she would be in the clear from all the scrutiny of casting choices. No. Youth Adult novel adaptations are majorly under the microscope. But, I think I can speak for all fans when I say that Jennifer Lawrence is the PERFECT choice to play Miss Everdeen.

The Tube of Death

Geez, not since Augustus Gloop went up the chocolate pipe in Wonka’s factory has claustrophobic tube looked so terrifying.

Countdown

I’m sorry Beyonce, but I believe countdown may have a new definition after this film. I’m so glad the trailer ended with the opening cannon fire of the games. I even hope that we get no footage of the games at all and are just left clutching our hearts until the spring.

What did you think, internet? Is this not the best trailer since The Social Network? Are you as pumped as I am for spring? Was there anything that I missed that you are excited for? President Snow? Gale? The lack of Katniss and Prim’s cat? Let me know your thoughts! And, may the odds be ever in your favor.

Leave a Reply

