Pride and Prejudice

6 Dec

I’m not a very prideful person, or a very protective one. I believe that pride is the root to all evil, and that people can protect themselves. With that being said, I break all these rules when it comes to Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Now it’s no surprise that I love me some Sunnydale and Co. But sometimes I feel like I love it too much. So much that I feel like people need to pass full on lie-detector-tests-signed-sealed-delivered-contracts in order to prove to me that they truly want to watch it. Basically, I don’t want you to want to watch it, I want you to need to watch it.

Buffy is the holy grail of television in my mind. The show got me through high school, and has almost taught me as much about life and death as college and my faith has. It’s more than just a TV show with a funny name – it’s a major part of my genetic make-up and who I am.

So tell me, readers, are there certain pop culture rubies that you may take a little too seriously? Have you held a grudge against someone because they said Harry Potter was just “aight?” Does it still make you break into a cold sweat at night because of a failed attempt to introduce someone to Middle Earth? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

