Scoring My Life

26 Jan

I will be the first person to tell you that my mind is a bit warped. Not like a crazy person warped, but rather my eyes are cameras and the inner workings of my mind is the production team at Bravo.

I’ve been told that I exaggerate stories more than what the actual reality of them was. What can I say, I love the drama and theatrics of life.

My first thought when I hear that a friend got a job at a hospital isn’t “Oh yay! You’re going to be saving people’s lives!” It’s “What type of indie music are they going to be playing throughout the hallways? How many attendees are you going to sleep with? Will the hospital have a bomb scare every Tuesday, or every other Tuesday?”

Yeah. Warped.

My mind is so tuned into the station of KLZW that I want every moment of my life scored and soundtracked.

If I had a genie granting me wishes left and right one of them would be to have Alex Patsavas select songs to play in the background of my daily trials and tribulations. You know, she would make it seem like me pouring that bowl of Kix Berries in the morning was the coolest thing ever. EVER. Yet, she is busy running a real career and scoring actual TV hits like Grey’s Anatomy and Mad Men. So since she’s busy, I’ve taken on the task myself.

While there are literally hundreds of songs that I already have planned for significant (hopefully!) moments in my life, my favorite daydream one has to be

Washed Out – “You’ll See It”

This song is totally my twenty-something-living-in-the-city-for-the-first-time jam. The beat is fun, the lyrics are almost incoherent, and you know what, SO IS THE CITY!

(JSYK hit play above and listen to the song whilst reading)

Picture it: the shot opens up with me jumping out of bed, the camera starts slowly panning out of my bedroom and into the bathroom. OH, I’M IN THE SHOWER! OH LOOK, THE CAMERA HAS PANNED FROM THE BATHROOM TO THE KITCHEN AND I’M FULLY DRESSED, READY TO TAKE ON THE CITY! WHAT?! I JUST WALKED OUT OF THE DOORWAY OF MY APARTMENT AND I’M ALREADY IN THE OFFICE’S OF MY HIPSTER/FAST-PACED/IMPORTANT JOB! THIS IS JUST CRAZY!!

(If you haven’t caught on by now, this is definitely a montage)

I’m walking through the offices West Wing style, drifting in and out of the hoards of people that surround me. The smile on my face only reflects the confidence and excitement in my heart. Oh, and my outfits keep changing because this is a montage of how exciting Washed Out is making my life feel, and what is a montage without different wardrobe changes anyways?

Oh, look! I’m home now. I’m kicking off my boots and answering the door because it’s the take-out dude with my Chinese food! I’m smiling at the thought of being on my own in the city. I’VE MADE IT. I barely plop down on the couch to eat before the montage camera has panned back to me in the office. I’m running around with a pile of mail in my arms, my face is starting to lose that confident smile it had at the beginning – uh oh, nerves. The camera is panning through the office as I begin to trip up and accidentally let the mail slip through my arms and fall to the ground. Oh jeez, I’m such a klutz. People are staring as I scramble around the floor grasping at loose paper like Velma for her glasses on Scooby Doo.

I’m home again! And what do you know, the takeout dude is back with more Chinese. I hand him my money with an apprehensive smile. He knows as well as I do that this is my third time in a week and a half to order from Yum Yum Flaming Dragon. The camera begins to slip out of the montage and settle on a close up of my face. The lights and colors of the TV only enhances and highlights both the dark circles under my eyes and the question in my head: Is this city life what I really wanted?

I blink right as the song hits the 2:41 mark. The audience is only left with silence as the camera stays on my face. Jump to black, and time for commercial.

See. Warped.

While none of this montage has come to pass, and hopefully the latter never will, music helps to enhance the crazy richness of my odd artistic side.

So to make me feel less like a freak, are there any moments in your life where you know things could just be plain awesome if you had some sort of song blaring in the background? Let me know yours and I will definitely keep letting you know about mine.

2 Responses to “Scoring My Life”

  1. JuJu January 26, 2012 at 6:29 PM #

    You forgot the part where your friend Julie shows up with a bowl of beans, read to watch The Vampire Diaries… but other than that, this post is really good!! As for the call to action in the last paragraph, yes there are songs that would play in significant times or significant montages in my life. I have so graciously added links to all of them below:


    the last one will undoubtedly play in the montage, thought I don’t know what it would contain….

    I am bored at work 🙂

  2. christiecz January 27, 2012 at 1:59 PM #

    I have seriously done this my whole life! When I was younger, after I saw the Truman Show for the first time, I had the paranoid thought, “What if I’M always on camera?”… So naturally I just felt the pressure to make my life seem more exciting rather than think it would be weird if I was actually on camera constantly. (It’s normal, right??) But even if I felt like my life was particularly cinematic one day, it was so frustrating because I was always missing just one thing: the soundtrack. Of course, back then I would have probably picked something on the Top 40 list…. I’m pretty sure your life would have a way cooler soundtrack than mine!

Leave a Reply

