What I Want From My Twenties

23 Feb

I’ve mentioned it once and I will most likely mention it again just because it seems to be the only thought that my mind is able to latch onto: I’m at the point in my life where I have to worry about “having it all.”

What exactly is “it all,” though? The textbook definition – that I have always viewed as the correct answer – is the career, the spouse, the kids, the house. The checklist is so unnecessarily and relentlessly forced upon twenty-somethings that we begin to believe that this grocery list is what will define our future as valuable and worthy. While I definitely think that I want all of the list someday, right now I want to be in my twenties and not worry about what my place in the world will be in the next 20+ years.

In the movie The Help, there is a scene where Aibileen opens up to Skeeter about her son’s death. She mentions that she grieves not only for the loss of a son, but because her son was in the prime of his life upon his passing: his twenties. She says that that time is the best part of someone’s life. That they are just beginning in the world. What ‘ol Abbie speaks is the truth, but sometimes we lose sight of that when our vision is so skewed to the neon sign blinking “FUTURE” on the left.

So this is a post where I’m not going to worry about what 30’s and 40’s-ville holds for me, but rather what I want to put on the grocery list of my twenties.

I want to party it up

I want to grow in my relationship with Christ

I want cool, artsy, hipstery photos of myself to be taken everyday

I want to talk about Jesus everyday

I want to backpack to Alaska

I want to move to New York City

I want to be athletic and outdoorsy

I want the community I gained in college to continue

I want to have brunch as often as possible

I want to spend money frivolously

I want to worry about how I’m going to pay my bills

I want the hole-in-the-wall apartment in the city that I will cry about every night

I want the body that I’ve always wanted

I want the committed relationship that I’ve always wanted

I want to struggle

I want things to come easy

I want a mentor

I want to go to as many concerts and shows as I possibly can

I want to meet Adele

I want to go to Comic-Con

I want to talk about TV everyday

I want to own a welsh corgi

I want to meet a penguin or beluga whale

I want to learn mandolin

I want to be “discovered” for something

I want to go on random adventures

I want to enter to be a contestant on The Real World

I want the “what the hell did I just do?” moments

I want to say “you owe me big time for that!”

I want to laugh so much that it hurts

I want my friends to be famous

I want to get into a fistfight

I want to grow my hair long and then chop it all off

I want to feel pride in myself for something I’ve done or achieved

I want a goal to work towards

I want to be sad

I want to be happy

I want love

I want comments on this blog

Cheers, y’all.

3 Responses to “What I Want From My Twenties”

  1. Wouldn't you like to know February 23, 2012 at 9:16 PM #

    I can grant you one wish, and maybe help out with another:
    1. You asked for comments on your blog, and you know homegirl has you covered on that one
    2. http://www.wwoofusa.org/Farms?LOC=AK I actually sent this link to another friend this morning, hope it at least gives you some ideas
    3. I admire that you want to be happy and sad. I went a long time ranging in the middle, but when you hit the mountains and valleys, that is when you are truly living.
    4. I associate “wanting to struggle” and “wanting to go to comic-con” as the same thing for some reason
    5. I have always wanted to punch someone in the face, so maybe we can brawl whilst thrifting tomorrow?
    6. If I had to choose one of these things for you not to do, it would be a welsh corgie. They terrify me. I guess you can have it as long as I don’t see it. Or maybe we can take it to town lake, but only if it will garner us positive attention.

    7. I hope you like my comments. ALSO— I am getting a lot of Ted Mosby in this post. I think that is true, but I also think I have watched too many HIMYM episodes in the past few months and that is really what I related everything to, blogposts included.

    xoxo GOSSIP JULIE featuring Harriet the Spy aka Georgina Sparks whom I sometimes accidentally refer to as Regina George.

  2. christiecz February 24, 2012 at 12:06 AM #

    I love the truth in this list of wants; it’s contradictory sometimes, but that’s so true to human nature and emotion. The comforting thing is, if you make #2 your biggest goal, everything else will fall into place exactly as it’s supposed to in the most wonderful ways!
    1. “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” -Psalm 37:4
    2. “‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” -Jeremiah 29:11
    3. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.” -Proverbs 3:5-6

    We’re in the same boat, fella.
    Love you,
    Crust

  3. Bethany February 24, 2012 at 2:11 AM #

    I just read this entire post with a smile, thanks 🙂 and I happen to have a cd of artistic photos with your name on it 😉

Leave a Reply

